Whale Watch, Glacier, and Juneau City Tour Reviews

Read Juneau tour reviews and see what recent participants are saying about this excursion. We don't filter out any reviews.

Rating of This tour has received an average of 4.56 stars on a total of 16 Ratings

Default Avatar125
Ft. Myers, FL
2016/07/19
Whale Watching, Glacier & City Tour - great experience

The June morning started off with a Celebrity cruise arriving a Juneau. Our tour package was scheduled to start at 9:30am and we were pleased find that the pickup point for the Juneau Shore Tours was right there at the dock. We started off with a bus ride to Mendenhall Glacier where we spent about 45 minutes viewing the glacier and going thru the visitor center before catching another bus to the the boat for the whale watching tour. We had a sunny day and temperatures approaching 70 deg. (F) by noon, i.e, near perfect weather. The whale watching was great and we saw several humpbacks putting on a good show. After the 2 hours (or so) for the whale watching we return backed dock for the whale watching boat then by bus to the ship's location then started the 3rd leg of our tour by boarding a bus for a tour around Juneau itself.

Overall, an excellent experience for a reasonable price. Certainly a better shore excursion package and at a better price that what was offered thru the cruise line.

Default Avatar125
Portland Oregon
2016/06/15
Juneau city, glacier and whale watch tour

This tour was pretty good, guides were knowledgeable. Jeremiah, the whale watching guide, was very pleasant and helpful and made the experience all the better. My only requests would be: 1) to either give more time for us to get our own lunch or provide a little more food (we were starving at the end) and 2) give us more time at the glacier so we can both walk to Nugget Falls and see the visitor center. Since we only got an hour, we couldn't do both.

Default Avatar125
Atlanta, GA
2016/06/14
Great outing!

We enjoyed our day seeing the whales, the city and the glacier! We would recommend this and are glad we did it.

Niraj G
India
2016/06/13
Excellent tour

The city tour is nothing great as the city is quite small, but the effort of the tour guide to make it interesting was appreciable. It ended with the visit to the glacier - wow. The whale watching tour was just great. The captain made efforts to go from one place to another to make us sight the hump back whales. We saw a few of them showing off their tails too. Great tour and definitely recommendable.

Default Avatar125
Indiana
2016/06/13
Whale Watching Review

Would definitely do it again. It was one of the best tours I have had. We got to see a lot of wildlife and the tour guides provided us with a lot of information.

Default Avatar125
North Carolina
2016/06/13
We saw blow holes more than whales

I felt that you over-promised and under-delivered on the whale watching portion of the tour. I expected that whale watching would include some close-up viewing of a whale(s), not merely seeing them blow air from a long distance. Yes we saw several whales blow air and we saw the some small portions of whales back/dorsal fins from a long distance. But from your website, I had expected much more! I expected closer encounters of whales and seeing much more of the whales themselves. I suppose you met your guarantee that would we see whales, but, in my mind just barely. All in all a disappointing experience. The rest of the excursion was fine.

Default Avatar125
ne Iberia, LA
2015/09/29
Whole family enjoyed

15 members of our family enjoyed an alaskan cruise june 2015. we especially enjoyed our whale watching excursion in juneau. juneau shore tours were amazing. the staff was very friendly and helpful in fact the boat captain even invited my 12 yr old grand son into the cabin when he heard how afraid of boats he was. it was such a treat for him. the whales were splendid and exceeded our expectations. the staff were very knowledgeable and answered all of the boys questions. we especially appreciated the bus driver suggesting some local places for meals, drinks etc. juneau shore tours was quite a bit cheaper than the cruise excursions and just made our visit to juneau very special.

Default Avatar125
Lebanon, TN
2015/09/29

My husband and I traveled in a small group of 6 and signed up for your tour prior to leaving home. Our excursion took place on Sept. 7th. I'm sorry I don't remember any names of the guides but I'm sure you have that information. The guide for the city tour was very informative and personable but the city tour itself was nothing more than a ride thru town....nearly nothing and moved to quickly for photos except for one photo stop. The Mendenhall Glacier was magnificent. We had ample time to visit and get lots of great pictures. Then, we boarded the bus to the whale watch and the tour took another dip. The driver spent the entire ride giving us the do's and don'ts of the boat ride but did it as if he was talking to toddlers. We felt as if we were being scolded to behave. However, the whale watch was so wonderful, the trip was saved. the crew on the boat went out of their way to make sure we saw as many whales as possible and we were very happy. Maybe you could work a little more on the "city" part and adjust the second driver's tone somewhat and the trip would be darn near perfect. Since we actually signed on for the glacier and whale watch I would probably recommend your service with a little disclaimer. We did feel we got our money"s worth. Thanks from Tennessee.

Default Avatar125
California
2015/09/29
Great tour, great deal, great service!

Saved almost half the cost on a similar tour offered by our cruise line! Highly recommended and will use them again next time we come to Alaska.

Default Avatar125
Lebanon, TN
2015/09/24
Whales, whales, and more whales

We went on your tour on Tuesday, Sept 8th. It was AWESOME!!! Our tour guide was great. Wish we could remember his name:( We would recommend this tour to anyone we knew who was going to Juneau. We saw close to 50 whales which made even our guide giddy! Thank you for an experience of a lifetime. Snacks and water was a plus.

Default Avatar125
Louisanna
2015/09/24
Whale Soup

It was the highlight of our trip. We had great weather. Not to sunny or windy, just a little drizzle. Smiling talkitive guides and lots of whales, none of them made into our boat, nor did get ride any of them, but maybe next time . I would definatley go back.

Default Avatar125
Indiana
2015/09/24
Wonderful happenings!!

It was a great day to start with. We saw not only whales but Orca family swimming very close by. In the distance, we saw another big Whale dangerously close to another boat. Our captain maintained the distance and kept us safe and at the same time got us very close to the point of action. It was worth it and I recommend to all.

Default Avatar125
Louisiana
2015/09/22
Whales! Whales! Whales!

Whale watching was awesome! We saw so many...close enough but not too close. Highlight of the Alaska Cruise. Water was very smooth so if you get seasick in rough water, don't worry about it. Would recommend to any traveler.

Default Avatar125
Dallas, TX
2015/09/22
Friendly Crew gets you to the Whales

My wife and I had a great time whale watching. The 2-man crew was friendly, provided snacks and water and did their best to give us the best vantage point to see the whales. Great fun!

Default Avatar125
Los Angeles
2015/09/21
What a trip!

My husband and I skipped the tour offered by Princess in favor of the Juneau whale watching, glacier and city tours. Great decision! Our captain John and his able local deckhand Christian were as emthusiastic as we were and determined to find as many whales as possible. The glacier tour was magnificent; we loved our experience in Juneau and heartily recommend Juneau tours.

Default Avatar125
UK
2015/09/08
Whale Watching Tour

Thanks I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. Staff went out of their way to make this an amazing experience. Even our transfer coach driver stopped en route to the harbour so we could see migrating salmon. Our whale watching crew were fantastic - going to extra mile so we could not only see hump back whales but also seals and Orcas. Captain John and our guide Jamie were just fantastic. We had a close up of whales which was out of this world. Also this was a small group which made it more personal. The trip around Juneau was informative and the guide dropped us in town which gave us a little time to explore the old town - including the Alaskan Hotel which had a live band playing - topped it off nicely.

Today’s Spotlight Tour

5% Pledge
Sustainable Tourism

5% of our profits will go to support Alaskan sustainable tourism efforts. That's our pledge at Juneau Shore Tours.

FREE 

 

PLANNER

with Cruise Packing List

Packing lists, money-saving tips, where to eat, and do-it-yourself activities.

JOIN

the INSIDER

NEWSLETTER!

Don't forget to visit  AlaskaShoreTours.com

for Juneau, Skagway, and Ketchikan all in one place.

Thank You! Check Your Email

Looking for Skagway or Ketchikan Tours?