Whale Watch and Glacier Reviews

Read Juneau tour reviews and see what recent participants are saying about this excursion. We don't filter out any reviews.

Rating of This tour has received an average of 4.76 stars on a total of 21 Ratings

Default Avatar125
Thousand Oaks, California
2016/07/25
Great day trip

We enjoyed our 4th of July trip in Juneau - the whale watching boat trip was excellent - enjoyed the scenery and we saw a lot of humpback whales - this is not the trip to see Orcas! Wish we could have gotten a little closer to the whales, but we appreciated the way the boat captains all worked together to not harass the whales - I could see that the crew definitely have a great respect for nature. The Glacier was awesome - we did the hike to Nugget Falls which we highly recommend. Took an hour round trip - easy hike and well worth the time to get closer to the glacier.

Terry and Melanee Davis
South Dakota
2016/07/09
Whale Watching and Mendenhall Glacier

The glacier portion was great, because we were given our own time to go where we wanted.

The whale watching exceeded expectations. The crew took great care of us, and we were blessed with multiple breeches by the whales we saw.

Default Avatar125
Wisconsin & Florida
2016/06/27
Whale Watching & Mendenhall Glacier

Whale watching was super. Saw a baby calling for her mother, who did respond. Seals were what we saw the most of. I wish we had more time at the glacier. We were there for a very short time, didn't get to see the visitor center.

Default Avatar125
Florida
2016/06/25
Wonderful People and Great Experience

Brandy was our bus driver and guide and she was wonderful with a great personality. Ben and Jerry were our whale watching gentlemen and they were very knowledgable and friendly, great people.

Default Avatar125
Minnesota
2016/06/23
Whales and their little ones

We got to see several Whales and their calves it was so exciting. They swam so close to our boat. We got some really beautiful photos. Our captain was so focused and made sure we all had a great time!

Jarrel
Austin, TX
2016/06/18
The glacier...

The tour company took us to the docks for the whale watching tour and we quickly boarded and headed out to find the whales. It was a bit choppy and we didn't have much luck at the first location so they moved to a new location and we saw several humpbacks, including a baby calf. The naturalist on board was informative and helpful. I would recommend this tour! For the glacier, they take you to the park and let you explore on your own. There are several tails, one of which brings you to an amazing waterfall with views of the glacier. The other is a good spot for glacier photos. A great place to visit....

Stacy P
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2016/06/13
A "Hump" Above the Rest!

We had a great time. The bus drivers Fred and Brandy were funny and informative. The glacier was breathtaking and grand. Whale watching with Ben and Emily was amazing. We saw several humpback whales and their calves. Also saw some cute sea lions sunning themselves on a buoy. The entire experience was great and memorable. Highly recommended this excursion.

William E
Atlanta Georgia
2016/06/06
Great tour

Had a great time on the tour. Staff was great. Lot's of sightings. Highly recommended! Well worth it.

Default Avatar125
Nashville, TN
2016/01/05
Awesome tour

We booked this tour with a Yukon tour and it was well worth it!! The captain and crew were so awesome!! Every time we saw a whale it was like they were experiencing it for the first time! It was evident they all loved their jobs and that it turn make the trip extra awesome! They cared about us and our experience on the tour!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

John Whipp
Ontario, Canada
2015/10/04
Great Time

This is a great tour for people who want a relaxing day. Starting out at the Mendenhall Glacier and taking our time to explore this beautiful area was a great way to start our day. We viewed the glacier from afar and then took a leisurely stroll over to the water falls to get a more close up view and on the way back saw a black bear having a snooze in the bush. we headed up to the observatory and toured around there before crossing the street to watch the salmon swimming upstream. We then boarded the bus and it was off to see the Humpback whales and we saw lots of humpbacks, sea otters and even a bald eagle. Our young tour guide did an excellent job and we hope she took our advise and is heading to Hawaii in December. Great tour you wont be disappointed, we sure weren't!!

Gerardo Lami
Florida via Norwegian Pearl
2015/10/01
Great Whale Watching

The Whale Watching & Mendenhall Glacier Excursion was very enjoyable. Meeting up with the tour group in Juneau was a little confusing due to the sheer number of tour companies there and poor signage. The whale watching portion was enjoyable, fast boat to the viewing site, and we were lucky to see numerous Orcas and a couple of Humpback whales. The guide was informative and pleasant/funny, kept things light. The glacier portion was too short. We only had 40 minutes at the glacier, not enough. I recommend this company.

Suzanne
Johnstown NY
2015/09/29
Mendenhall Glacier & Whale Watch Tour

Mendenhall Glacier portion was self-guided, but shuttles ran regularly and were easy to access. Whale watch crew was very enthusiastic and we saw many humpbacks and orcas - it was awesome to see them in their natural habitat. Great experience!

Maggie
Ocala FL
2015/09/24
Great experience!

You can't travel all the way here & not see these things. We encountered a bear @ the glacier & then witnessed the whales doing what is termed, "bubble feeding" all on our first day in AK. It was so exciting & beautiful.

Yvonne Yun
Australia
2015/09/24
WOO HOO

The crew knew their stuff and we were able, as a result, to get close enough to smell the spume when they cleared their blow holes! We tracked a pod of around 10 bubble netting and it was such a privilege to be able to hear their underwater communication, see and smell them - just cannot describe the enjoyment of being there. Thanks

Default Avatar125
Emmett, Idaho
2015/09/22
Whale Watching!

Jason was a wonderful guide. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We watched whales as they were feeding on herring. One had a baby with her.

Default Avatar125
Las Vegas, Nevada
2015/09/22
Good choice!

We were on a cruise and prior to leaving from home, I checked the website. The whale watching and Mendenhall Glacier Tour sounded perfect. One major factor I considered was the size of the whale watching boats. To my mind, smaller is better and that was a good call. Unfortunately we didn't see Moby or much of any other whales. The back on three whales broke the surface but there wasn't a grand show. Not to worry because the captain and young lady and young man assistants showed us gorgeous scenery, It was up close and personal. The trip was worth every penny and a big savings over the tour offered by the cruise line, We would definitely go with Juneau Tours again.

Arlene L.
Miami
2015/09/22
Amazing sights

We had expected to see some whales from far away, but our guide was able to get us so close! The humpbacks swam right up to our boat and underneath it, surprising us as they emerged on the other side. They were close enough that you could hear them "singing" and really get a good look at how beautiful they truly are. We then took the boat over to look at some sea lions, which was a great addition to our excursion!

Default Avatar125
Arizona
2015/09/16

The whale watching was excellent - all that we hoped for! Take away 1/2 a star only because I felt we didn't have enough time at Mendenhall glacier (less than an hour). It was a significant savings compared to an equivalent tour booked through the cruise.

Julie
Utah
2015/06/14
Great whale watching!!

Did research and Juneau tours had the best prices and great reviews. Thoroughly enjoyed whale watching and the two young guided who narrated our trip were locals and very informative. Loved that the boat seats about 50 and we had about 25 on the boat. So good views all around. We saw about 7 humpback whales. Would do again.

Default Avatar125
Hudson ma.
2015/06/07
Fun trip with Well informed staff

Had a great time on this whole trip from the friendly staff who really seemed to care about what they do and made sure everyone was satisfied and would answer all questions with informative experienced answers.. Very Highly reccommended..

Heather and Andy Dziobek
Chicopee, mass
2015/05/25
Whale watch

Awesome time Brian and Amanda no we their stuff and were awesome guides was able to see so much and had an enjoyable time and the weather was perfect!!!

Today’s Spotlight Tour

5% Pledge
Sustainable Tourism

5% of our profits will go to support Alaskan sustainable tourism efforts. That's our pledge at Juneau Shore Tours.

We have something for you!

Exclusive  Inside Passage Planner

An expert-compiled guide with port info, activity ideas, packing lists, and more!

To receive your FREE

Inside Passage Planner

Just enter your e-mail

Check Your Email...

Thank you!